Kumari Selja and Abhishek Manu Singhvi are the new members of Congress Working Committee

New Delhi, 23 June

Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Thursday appointed former Union Minister Kumari Selja and party spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi as members of the party’s working committee.

Former Rajya Sabha MP T Subbarami Reddy has been inducted as a permanent invitee to the highest decision-making body of the Congress party.

Ajay Kumar Lallu, former president of Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee, will be a special invitee member of CWC.

The appointments come after the party removed Adampur MLA Kuldeep Bishnoi from his posts. He was a special invitee member of the CWC and was expelled after voting for independent Karthikeya Sharma in the recently held Rajya Sabha elections in Haryana, where Congress party’s official candidate Ajay Maken lost.