Vice Presidential Election Live Updates: Voting to elect new Vice President of India today, counting in favor of Jagdeep Dhankhar over Margaret Alva – India Times Hindi News

Alva decided to abstain from voting, accusing her of lack of consultation while deciding on her name. Alva, 80, is a Congress veteran and has served as the governor of Rajasthan and Uttarakhand, while Dhankhar, 71, is a Jat leader from Rajasthan with a socialist background.

However, on Friday, two days after the Aam Aadmi Party and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) extended their support to the opposition candidate, Alva got the support of regional party Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). AIMIM has also extended its support to Alva. With the support of some regional parties like Janata Dal (United), YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK and Shiv Sena, the NDA candidate is likely to get over 515 votes, which is enough for them to win a comfortable victory.

Alva is likely to get over 200 votes with the support declared by the parties for her candidature so far. The Trinamool Congress, which has 23 MPs in the Lok Sabha and 16 in the Rajya Sabha, has decided to stay away from the vice-presidential election.

“If Parliament is to function effectively, MPs, independent of their parties, have to find ways to rebuild trust and restore broken communication between each other. In the end, it is the MPs who determine the character of our Parliament,” Alva said in a fresh video message ahead of the election. He said that he has seen debates and differences and yet the atmosphere of transactions, which is now lacking. “The time has come for all parties to unite and restore trust and confidence in each other and restore the dignity of Parliament,” Alva said in his latest appeal to the MPs. Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge also hosted a dinner on Thursday night to thank all the opposition MPs who supported Alva.

Dhankhar, on the other hand, met several BJP MPs at his residence on Friday. These include Sushil Kumar Modi, Gautam Gambhir, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Rajendra Agarwal, Pradeep Chaudhary and Kartikeya Sharma. He is meeting party MPs seeking their support for the elections. Where polling will be held on Saturday from 10 am to 5 pm, the votes will be counted immediately thereafter. In the evening the Returning Officer will announce the name of the next Vice President.

Members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, including nominated members, are eligible to vote in the Vice-President’s election. The tenure of present M Venkaiah Naidu ends on August 10. The Vice President is also the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

In the Vice Presidential election, the electoral college consists of a total of 788 members from both the Houses of Parliament. Since all voters are members of both houses of Parliament, each MP’s vote will have the same value – one, the Election Commission has said. The elections are held according to the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote and voting in such elections is by secret ballot.

There is no concept of open voting in this election and showing ballot papers to anyone is strictly prohibited under any circumstances in case of Presidential and Vice-Presidential elections, the Election Commission has warned that the parties can whip their MPs in this matter. cannot issue. Why vote? Unlike the presidential election, where voting takes place at multiple locations as elected legislators, not nominated, are also part of the electoral college, in a vice presidential election, voting takes place in the Parliament House.

read the breaking news And today’s fresh news Here