T20 World Cup 2021: David Warner wins player of the tournament award – India Times Hindi News

David Warner hits match-winning half-century as Australia win their maiden ICC men’s category t20 world cup trophy after defeating rivals New Zealand in the final on Sunday night in Dubai. The innings marked a spectacular turnaround for the Aussie star, who was doomed to his poor form in the lead up to the tournament.

Full coverage of T20 World Cup , the schedule , photos , Mark sheet

Warner made 53 off 38 with four fours and three sixes as Australia chased down 173 in 18.5 overs for an eight-wicket win at the Dubai International. Cricket Stadium. The opener scored 289 runs in seven innings – the second highest in the tournament – at an average of 48.16 which included three half-centuries.

He was adjudged the Player of the Tournament for his effort with the bat. In the last two editions of the event (2014 and 2016), it was India’s batsman Virat Kohli who won the title.

“I’ve always loved it, for me it was about going back to basics, taking some hard, synthetic wickets to hit the balls,” Warner said during the presentation ceremony.

They rated the title win with Australia’s ODI World Cup victory in 2015, when they became champions for the fifth time in the event’s history.

Warner also praised his teammates. “These are a great group of people, great support staff, and great support around the world, especially back home,” he said.

The 35-year-old said that he is always excited but was a bit nervous ahead of the final against New Zealand. “Always pumped, wanted to do a spectacle. There was some nervousness as usual in the finals but it was nice to see people perform well.

Australia captain Aaron Finch has heaped praise on his opening partner Warner, saying he delivers when people write him off. “Can’t believe people dismissed him saying he (Warner) was done. That’s when he plays his best cricket. It was almost like beating a bear,” Finch said.

Overall, Australia have now won six World Cup titles which includes five ODIs and one T20I.

get all IPL news and cricket score Here