HomeAsiaReconstitution of Parliamentary Standing Committees relating to various departments

Reconstitution of Parliamentary Standing Committees relating to various departments

New Delhi, 9 October

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, in consultation with Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, on Saturday reconstituted parliamentary standing committees relating to various departments.

BJP member Sushil Kumar Modi has been appointed as the new chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice in place of Minister Bhupendra Yadav.

Congress MP Anand Sharma will continue to be the chairman of the parliamentary panel on home affairs and Jairam Ramesh will continue to chair the committee on science and technology, environment, forests and climate change.

Shashi Tharoor has also been retained as the chairman of the Panel on Information Technology.

According to the bulletin issued by both the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha secretariats, the reconstituted committees for the year 2021-22 will be effective from September 13.

BJP MP Ravi Shankar Prasad has been included in the Parliamentary Panel on Finance and Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank as a member in the Panel on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice.

In the last cabinet reshuffle, both Prasad and Nishank were removed from the post of Union ministers.

Former Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi has been included in the Information Technology panel as a member, while Pragya Singh Thakur has been included in the panel of Railways.

YSR Congress’s Vijayasai Reddy as chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Commerce, Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav on health and family welfare, TRS member K Keshava Rao of Industries, DMK’s Kanimozhi on the panel on chemicals and fertilizers, and JD(U) has been re-appointed. Rajeev Ranjan Singh of ) will head the panel on energy.

TMC member Sudip Bandyopadhyay will continue to head the panel on food, consumer affairs and public distribution and BJD member Bhartrihari Mahtab of the panel on labour.

The chairmen of other department-related parliamentary panels have not been changed, most of which are headed by BJP MPs.

Every year 24 department-related Parliamentary Standing Committees are constituted. Each panel consists of 21 members from the Lok Sabha and 10 from the Rajya Sabha. — PTI / TNS



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments