Nitish Kumar to expand cabinet today, ally gets lion’s share – India Times Hindi News

Sources said that Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD will have 16 cabinet seats, Nitish Kumar’s JDU will have 12 seats.

New Delhi:

Sources told NDTV that Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar will expand his cabinet today, with alliance partner Rashtriya Janata Dal holding the largest share of seats. Sources said the RJD will have 16 cabinet seats and Mr Kumar’s Janata Dal United will have 11. Two Congress MLAs and one MLA from HAM (Hindustani Awam Morcha) of Jitin Ram Manjhi and an independent member will also take oath. There can be a maximum of 36 ministers in the Bihar cabinet.

Sources said that the ceremony will take place at the Raj Bhavan at around 11.30 am. Mr. Kumar and his deputy RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav took oath on August 10.

Sources said Mr Kumar is likely to retain all ministers from his party except one. The ally RJD may name a new group of ministers cutting across castes based on its new “A to Z” slogan.

It is not yet known in which direction Plume portfolios such as housing, finance, taxes and road construction will go. In the previous government, Mr. Kumar held the Home Ministry.

There is speculation that Tejashwi Yadav, who was Mr Kumar’s deputy in the Grand Alliance government, is likely to get health, finance and road construction, which was part of the BJP’s stake.
The new government is likely to prove its majority in the assembly next week.

Mr Kumar had snapped ties with the BJP earlier this month and formed the government with other parties, including the RJD and the Congress.

Regularly required by state BJP leaders since his party’s poor performance in the 2020 state elections, Mr. Kumar decided to end the alliance earlier this month, convinced that Union Home Minister Amit Shah was his party. were trying to split.

Sources said they felt the BJP was attempting to replicate the Maharashtra model – where the Uddhav Thackeray government was dismantled with the revolt of senior Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde, who is now the chief minister.