Joe Gibbs Racing refuses to appeal penalties awarded to Bush, Hamlin

newYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

refused to appeal the penalty imposed by Joe Gibbs Racing NASCAR that Snatched Denny Hamlin from his Pocono Raceway victory and finished runner-up to Kyle Bush. The victory was awarded to Chase Elliott.

Hamlin’s No. 11 Toyota and Bush’s No. 18 Toyota both underwent postrace inspections on Sunday night, when NASCAR found issues in both cars that affected aerodynamics. JGR had time till Monday afternoon to file a formal appeal of disqualification. Joe Gibbs Racing did not immediately explain why it declined to appeal the violations.

Hamlin was the first cup winner to be disqualified since April 17, 1960, when Emanuel Zervakis’ victory at Wilson Speedway North Carolina Was thrown out because of a large fuel tank.

NASCAR: Denny Hamlin disqualified after Pocono win

Taylor James Hamlin, left, holds the checkered flag with his father, Denny Hamlin, as he won the NASCAR Cup Series auto race at Pocono Raceway in Long Pond, Pa. NASCAR removed Hamlin from his win when his No. 11 Toyota failed inspection and was disqualified, giving Chase Elliott a Cup Series win.
(AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

Elliott finished in third place and Hendrick Motorsports was awarded the win without the driver ever leading a lap. No. 9 Chevrolet,

NASCAR: TY GIBBS Had to Borrow Clothes to Race the POCONO CRIES

Hamlin was stripped of his third Cup Series win of the season and a seventh track-record at Pocono.