Hockey India announces 20-man men’s squad for Asian Champions Trophy


Hockey India on Friday announced a 20-member men’s squad for the Asian Champions Trophy to be held in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Tokyo Olympic bronze medalist India will begin their campaign against Korea on December 14, followed by their match against hosts Bangladesh on December 15.

Their third match will be against arch-rivals Pakistan on 17 December followed by India on 18 December against Malaysia and then on 19 December against Japan.

The semi-finals will be played on December 21 followed by the final on December 22. The previous edition was held in Muscat, Oman, where India jointly won the title with Pakistan after the final was called off due to incessant rain.

Manpreet Singh will captain the team and Harmanpreet Singh will be the deputy.

The team includes goalkeepers Krishan B Pathak and Suraj Karkera.

Harmanpreet Singh will lead the charge with Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Neelam Sanjeev Zess, Deepson Tirkey, Varun Kumar and Mandeep Mor in the defence.

Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Shamsher Singh and the experienced Akashdeep Singh will patrol the midfield.

The forward line will be led by Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Shilanand Lakra.

He said, ‘While selecting this team, now our eyes should be on the future. Building on sustained success requires a deep and strong team, so players should be given opportunities to perform,” said head coach Graham Reid.

“We have picked a team that has a good mix of experience and young people who will have a chance to show what they can do. it’s a busy match schedule and judging by COVID-19 Status The FIH and AHF allow up to 18 players to be selected in each game from a larger team of 20 players.

“We are waiting for the challenge,” he said.


Goalkeeper: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Suraj Karkera
Protector: Harmanpreet Singh (VC), Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Deepson Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Neelam Sanjeev Zess, Mandeep Mor
Midfielder: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh (c), Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Akashdeep Singh, Shamsher Singh
ahead: Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra