Four-time champions India in Group B of ICC Under 19 World Cup – India Times English News

No country has won the ICC Under-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup more than India and their quest for the fifth title will begin in Group B.

Having reached the final two years ago, India are looking to take a better step this time and repeat the achievements of the class of 2018, which won New Zealand first under current internationals Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill.

Coming up against them in the group stage are 2014 champions South Africa, competition regulars Ireland and a Ugandan side making their first appearance in this tournament for 16 years.

Group B begins in Guyana before moving on to Trinidad and Tobago, with one match at Queens Park Oval and three matches at Brian Lara Cricket Academy.

India (14th appearance)

India have failed to surpass the group stage only once in the ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup – in the opening edition in 1988 – and entered the favorites to go all the way.

Winning the 2021 Asia Cup served as perfect preparation with spinners Vicky Ostwal and Kaushal Tambe as India beat Sri Lanka by nine wickets in the final on New Year’s Eve.

So, the spin twins, head for the confident Caribbean, as do Asia Cup’s leading run-scorers Harnoor Singh and Sheikh Rashid, and India’s prowess with bat and ball will make them formidable rivals again.

Yash Dhool captains the team and would like to join a stellar list of names including Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli and Shaw to guide India to victory in this competition.

Ireland (9th appearance)

Ireland qualified for their ninth ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup in style, beating Scotland by 66 runs in a one-sided final of the Europe Qualifier last September.

Matthew Humphries was the star in La Manga, scoring 5-25, and the slow left-arm spinner from Lisburn will be eager to take that form to the big opportunity.

Ireland warmed to the new year after beating Zimbabwe in Barbados and although they went down 3–1 in the series, a 117-run victory in the final showed what a team captained by Tim Tector is capable of on its day. .

Tenth in 2010 is Ireland’s best performance to date, but they won three of their six matches when they qualified in 2018, including a memorable four-run victory over Afghanistan.

South Africa (13th appearance)

South Africa’s chances of success on home soil had been dashed by eventual winners Bangladesh in the quarter-final stage two years ago, but a talented team will challenge for honors in the Caribbean.

All-rounder Dewald Brevis impressed for the Proteas youngsters at the CSA provincial T20 knockout competition in October – his batting style has been compared to AB de Villiers – while his leg-spin made a big difference in the recent warm-up series. West Indies. created problems. home nation.

Left-arm spinner Asakhe Tsaka and skipper George van Heerden will also be hoping to make a name for themselves in the coming weeks as South Africa look for the second ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup trophy.

Aiden Markram and Kagiso Rabada were the stars of a memorable win eight years ago and the current crop will be confident of following in their footsteps.

Uganda (3rd appearance)

After missing out on participation in 2016 and 2018, Uganda came out on the right side of the nail-biting qualification group to make it to their third ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup.

Uganda needed a big net run rate swing in their side to go into the final matches of the Africa Qualifiers and they duly got it, bowling out Tanzania for 51 and just in response to proceed at Namibia’s expense. Lost two wickets.

In Cyrus Kakuru and Joseph Baguma, Uganda had the leading run scorers and joint leading wicket-takers of the Africa Qualifiers, while captain Pascal Murungi claimed 4-9 in a decisive win over Tanzania.

The Baby Cricket Cranes have won a match in each of their previous matches in this competition in 2004 and 2006, and will be eager to show what they can do when they return to the global stage.

get all IPL news and cricket score Here