First meeting of committee on MSP expected on August 22 – India Times Hindi News

New Delhi: According to official sources, the Committee on Minimum Support Price (MSP) is scheduled to hold its first meeting on August 22 to discuss future strategies. The meeting will be held at the National Agricultural Science Complex (NASC) at 10.30 am. national capital, sources said.

In the first meeting, sources said the committee will present members, deliberate on “future strategies” and discuss setting up sub-panels to cover the broader issues outlined in the context. Read more: SBI home loan EMIs to rise as bank hikes benchmark lending rates by 50 basis points

Meanwhile, the government is persuading the United Kisan Morcha (SKM) to participate in the committee’s proceedings; It needs to be seen whether she will change her mind and nominate three representatives, the sources said. The SKM, which required setting up of this committee after leading farmers’ protests against three agricultural laws and forcing the government to repeal them, has already dismissed the committee and refused to nominate its representatives. has decided. Read more: 9.38 lakh government employees, pensioners will benefit from Gujarat government’s 3% DA hike

While announcing the repeal of three agriculture laws in November last year, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had promised to set up a committee to look into the MSP issues of farmers. The committee, headed by former agriculture secretary Sanjay Agarwal, was constituted on 18 July to “promote zero budget based farming”, to “change” the cropping pattern keeping in mind the changing needs of the country and to make MSP more “effective and transparent”. was done for. ,

The committee has 26 members including the chairman and three membership slots have been set aside for the representatives of the SKM. The members of the committee include: Ramesh Chand, member of NITI Aayog, CSC Shekhar, agro-economist from Indian Institute of Economic Development and Sukhpal Singh from IIM. -Ahmedabad and Naveen P Singh, senior member of Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP). Among farmer representatives, the committee has National Award winning farmer Bharat Bhushan Tyagi, and five members from other farmer organizations include Gunwant Patil, Krishnaveer Choudhary, Pramod Kumar. Choudhary, Guni Prakash and Syed Pasha Patel.

Farmers cooperative and two members of the group – IFFCO chairman Dilip Sanghani and CNRI general secretary Binod Anand – are also part of the committee. Senior Members of Agricultural Universities, five Secretaries to the Central Government and Chief Secretaries of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha. Also part of the committee.