Australia beat New Zealand by eight wickets to win T20 World Cup


Mitchell Marsh hit an unbeaten 77 as Australia beat New Zealand by eight wickets to clinch their maiden T20 World Cup title on Sunday.

Chasing 173 for victory, Australia relied on a second wicket stand of 92 runs between David Warner, who scored 53, and Marsh with seven balls to spare in Dubai.

Warner became Trent Boult’s second wicket, but Marsh took charge of powering Australia home to their long-awaited T20 crown and adding to their five 50-over World Cup trophies.

Glenn Maxwell, who scored 28, was joined by Marsh, who hit six fours and four sixes in his 50-ball knock, scored 66 and hit the winning boundary as the Aussies came to charge to celebrate the victory. Was.

Captain Kane Williamson scored a brilliant 85 in New Zealand’s 172-4, being invited to bat first in the crucial toss won by Aaron Finch as the chasing teams won all but one game at the venue Huh.

Australia, whose previous best was runners-up in 2010, came into the semi-finals of this edition with a loss to England and defeated pakistan Chasing a target of 177 runs in the final-four.

Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood returned 3-16 and leg-spinner Adam Zampa returned figures of 1-26.

Australia were dealt an early blow in their chase when Finch was dismissed for five off Boult, but the largely neutral but not packed-to-capacity crowd roared.

But the left-right batting duo of Warner and Marsh split the bowling with fours and sixes.

Marsh hit a six and two fours off Adam Milne in his first three balls to indicate his ruthless intent.

Warner also continued his punitive work as he dismissed leg-spinner Ish Sodhi for 17 runs in an over giving Marsh just one run.

He completed his third half-century of the tournament by hitting Jimmy Neesham for a six but soon fell to Bolt.

Warner, with a total of 289 runs, finished second behind Babar Azam (303) of Pakistan in the batting charts of the tournament.

Earlier Williamson, who was dismissed for 21, started cautiously but once settled, faced opposition bowling to reach his maiden half-century of the tournament.

He finished with 10 fours and three sixes in 48 balls to lift New Zealand 57-1 in 10. The Kiwis struggled early and was caught by Daryl Mitchell for 11 off Hazlewood’s delivery.

Opener Martin Guptill failed to score runs despite three fours and a 48-run stand for the second wicket with Williamson.

Williamson was saved from a spill in the deep by Hazlewood and the ball went out of the fielder’s hand to find a boundary. Paes spearhead Mitchell Starc was the bowler.

The skipper hit two more boundaries off left-arm pacer Starc, who was taken to 60 in his four overs to bring some momentum to the innings.

Zampa sent Guptill back into the dugout after the opener’s 35-ball 28, but Williamson kept the charge with two sixes off Maxwell.

Williamson again picked up Starc for four boundaries and a six in the 16th over of 22 runs and scored 68 runs along with Glenn Phillips, who scored 18 runs.

Hazlewood came back to break the stands with the wicket of Phillips in his final over and then dismissed Williamson with a leg-cutter.